Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
Transcript
7

Saturday Interlude

Saturday is fun day. Let’s be thankful the DNC was glorious with no violent events. Be like these relaxed deer and chill out with your loved ones! Gear up for the battle against authoritarianism!
7

I have always loved the English Romantic poets. My favorites were William Blake, Samuel T. Coleridge, and William Wordsworth. The following quote from Blake’s long poem “Auguries of Innocence” is probably responsible for shaping my love for deer as well as other animals.

“The wild deer, wandring here & there 
Keeps the Human Soul from Care”
Today I was distracted by their loyalty, innocence, trust in their mother, and complete happiness doing nothing. They live for the moment, the next green food and even tree leaves. I stopped fuming a few years after my 50 red tulips were consumed. I researched plants deer disliked. Until this summer’s drought and high temperatures, that worked until the deer became desperate for food and water. That’s why I cannot complain. 

I feel sorry for deer and all animals trying to survive extreme temperature changes. They work hard every day to get enough food to live. I realized what a gift they are and that few people have the privilege of seeing deer who are not running for their lives on highways. We have a walled off patio, and my pictures are taken from inside windows so as not to disturb them.

Leave a comment

Thanks for reading Diane’s Blue Notes! Subscribe for free. If you believe that Kamala Harris and Tim Walz care about our environment, animals, and we the people more than Donald Trump—you must Vote Blue for Harris-Walz💙🇺🇸💙

7 Comments

Diane’s Blue Notes
Diane’s Blue Notes